Organic Chemistry

Division Representatives

Todd Lowary (tlowary@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta
Fred West (fwest@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta
Florence Williams (fjwillia@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta

Symposia and Organizers

Beauty and Function Through Supramolecular Chemistry - joint with IN

Organizers:
Fraser HofUniversity of Victoria
Steve LoebUniversity of Windsor
Mark MacLachlan, University of British Columbia

Biosynthesis of Natural Products - joint with BM

Organizers:
Avena Ross (avena.ross@chem.queensu.ca), Queens University
John Sorensen, University of Manitoba
David Zechel (david.zechel@chem.queensu.ca), Queens University

Early Career Investigators - joint with BM, IN

Organizers:
Florence WilliamsUniversity of Alberta
Alex SpeedDalhousie University

From Germany to Canada: Synthetic Carbon Allotropes and Carbon-Rich Molecules - joint with MT

Organizer:
Rik Tykwinski (rik.tykwinski@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta
Andreas Hirsch (andreas.hirsch@fau.de), University Erlangen-Nuremberg 

General Session

Organizer:
Olivier SoueidanUniversity of Alberta

Innovative Methods and Design in Total Synthesis

Organizers:
Fred WestUniversity of Alberta
Rob BateyUniversity of Toronto
Andrew StevensGilead
Ho-Yan SunGilead

Modern Frontiers in Medicinal Chemistry - joint with BM

Organizer:
Mike MeanwellSimon Fraser University

Organic Synthesis at the Interface of Academia and the Pharmaceutical Industry - joint with IN

Organizers:
Dennis HallUniversity of Alberta
Rylan LundgrenUniversity of Alberta
Tim ElfordGilead
Kevin HespPfizer

Prebiotic Synthesis: Organic Chemistry in the Origins of Life

Organizer:
Victor Snieckus, Queen's University

Recent Advances in Peptide Chemistry and Biochemistry - joint with BM

Organizers:
John Vederas (john.vederas@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta
Adam Lubell (alubell@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta

Recent Advances in Photocatalysis and Radical Processes

Organizers:
Mark ScottGilead
Bob WuGilead

Teaching in Organic Chemistry - joint with CE

Organizers:
TBA