Materials Chemistry

Division Representative

Arthur Mar (amar@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta
Vlad Michaelis (vmichael@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta

Symposia and Organizers

1D and 2D materials: From computational studies to applications - joint with PT, MS

Organizer:
Benoit Simard (benoit.simard@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca), NRC-CNRC Ottawa

Invited Speakers:
Alex Adronov, McMaster U 
Keun Su Kim, 
National Research Council Canada
Richard Martel, Université de Montreal
Gilbert Walker, University of Toronto

Analytical Applications of Nanomaterials - joint with IN, AN

Organizer:
Mark McDermott (mmcdermo@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta
Jean-François Masson (jf.masson@umontreal.ca), Université de Montréal

Invited Speakers:
Russ Algar, University of British Columbia
Delphine Bouilly, Université de Montréal
Alexander Brolo, University of Victoria
Juewen Liu, University of Waterloo
Jean-François Masson, Université de Montréal
Mark T. McDermott, University of Alberta
Anna Ritcey, Université Laval

Emerging Materials Researchers

Organizer:
Todd Sutherland (sutherlt@ucalgary.ca), University of Calgary

Invited Speakers:
Tsun Kong Sham, Western University
Nicholas Randell, University of Saskatchewan
Laure Kayser, UC San Diego, USA
Anabel Lanterna, University of Ottawa
Johanna Blacquiere, Western University
Shuai Chen, University of Guelph
Vladimir K. Michaelis, University of Alberta
Xueliang (Andy) Sun, University of Western Ontario
Loren Kaake, Simon Fraser University

From Germany to Canada: Synthetic Carbon Allotropes and Carbon-Rich Molecules - joint with OR

Organizers:
Rik Tykwinski (rik.tykwinski@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta
Andreas Hirsch (andreas.hirsch@fau.de), University Erlangen-Nuremberg 

Invited Speakers:
Wes Chalifoux, University of Nevada – Reno, USA
Michael Haley, University of Oregon, USA
Milan KivalaFriedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
Jeff MorinUniversité Laval 
Christian NeissFriedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany

Jean-François NierengartenUniversité de Strasbourg, France
Yuming Zhao, Memorial University
Max von DeliusUniversity of Ulm, Germany

From the Stone Age, Bronze Age, and Beyond: Oxides, Intermetallics, and Structural Chemistry - joint with IN

Organizers:
Vekataraman Thangadurai (vthangad@ucalgary.ca), University of Calgary
Andrew Grosvenor (andrew.grosvenor@usask.ca), University of Saskatchewan

Confirmed Speakers Include:
Mario Bieringer, University of Manitoba
Hirotoshi Yamada, Nagasaki University
Bryce Meredig, Citrine Informatics
R. Vijayaraghavan, Vellore Institute of Technology

Magnetic Nanomaterials

Organizers:
Simon Trudel (trudels@ucalgary.ca), University of Calgary
Frank van Veggel (fvv@uvic.ca), University of Victoria
Amy Blum (amy.blum@mcgill.ca), McGill University

Materials for Renewable Energy Technologies - joint with PT & SS

Organizers:
Gregory Jerkiewicz
 (gregory.jerkiewicz@chem.queensu.ca), Queen's University
Daniel Guay (guay@emt.inrs.ca), Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique
Byron Gates (bgates@sfu.ca), Simon Fraser University

Invited Speakers:
Jillian Buriak, 
University of Alberta
Linda Nazar, University of Waterloo
Andy (Xueliang) Sun, Western University 
David P. Wilkinson, 
University of British Columbia

Molecular Materials by Design

Organizers:
Dmitriy Soldatov (soldatov@uoguelph.ca), University of Guelph
Ken Maly (kmaly@wlu.ca), Wilfrid Laurier University
Holger Eichhorn (eichhorn@uwindsor.ca), University of Windsor

Invited Speakers:
Jaclyn Brusso,
University of Ottawa
David Bryce, University of Ottawa
Louise Dawe, Wilfrid Laurier University
Natia Frank, University of Victoria
Tomislav Friščić, McGill University
Joe Gilroy, University of Western Ontario
Stephen Loeb, University of Windsor
Pance Naumov, New York University Abu Dhabi, UAE
Christian Pellerin, Université de Montréal
Christopher Pigge, University of Iowa, USA
Kathryn Preuss, University of Guelph
Jeremy Rawson, University of Windsor
Christian Reber, Université de Montréal
Amy Sarjeant, Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre, UK
Osama Sato, Kyushu University, Japan
Robert Schurko, University of Windsor
George Shimizu, University of Calgary
Ignacio Vargas-Baca, McMaster University
Vance Williams, Simon Fraser University
Lee Wilson, University of Saskatchewan
James Wuest, Université de Montréal

Solid-state NMR Spectroscopy: New Frontiers in Small Molecules, Biomolecular Solids and Materials Science - joint with PT

Organizers:
Vladimir Michaelis (vladimir.michaelis@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta
Roderick Wasylishen (roderick.wasylishen@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta

Invited Speakers:
Jochen AutschbachUniversity at Buffalo, USA
Andreas BrinkmannNational Research Council
Darren BrouwerRedeemer University
David BryceUniversity of Ottawa
Gaël De PaëpeCEA/ Grenoble Alpes University, France
Mattias EdénStockholm University, Sweden
Paul HazendonkUniversity of Lethbridge
Yining HuangUniversity of Western
Gillian GowardMcMaster University
Robert GriffinMassachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Scott KroekerUniversity of Manitoba
Vladimir LadizhanskyUniversity of Guelph
Robert SchurkoUniversity of Windsor
Gang WuQueen’s University 
Josef ZwanzigerDalhousie University - 2018 E.W.R. Steacie Award Winner

Understanding and Conserving Ancient and Historical Materials: In Honour of Ron Cavell - joint with PT, IN

Organizers:
Thomas Ellis (thomas.ellis@usask.ca), University of Saskatchewan
Scott Rosendahl (scott.rosendahl@lightsource.ca), Canadian Light Source

Confirmed Invited Speakers:
Marie-Claude Corbeil, Canadian Conservation Institute
TK Sham, Western University