Macromolecular Science and Engineering

Division Representative

Phillip Choi (pchoi@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta

Symposia and Organizers

1D and 2D Materials: From Computational Studies to Applications - joint with MT, PT

Organizer:
Benoit Simard (benoit.simard@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca), National Research Council

Invited Speakers:
Alex Adronov, McMaster U 
Keun Su Kim, 
National Research Council Canada
Richard Martel, Université de Montreal
Gilbert Walker, University of Toronto

Hierarchical Self-Assembly of Discrete π-Conjugated and Metal-Containing Systems

Organizer:
Xiaosong Wang (xiaosong.wang@uwaterloo.ca), University of Waterloo
Gustavo Fernandez Huertas (gustavo.fernandez@uni-munster.de), Universitat Munster, Germany

Invited Speakers:
Alex AdronovMcMaster University
Pierre-Antoine Bouit, University of Rennes, France
Cao Gao, Zhejiang University, China
Suhrit Ghosh, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, India
Roxanne Kieltyka, Leiden Institute of Chemistry, The Netherlands
Myongsoo Lee, Jilin University, China
Ian Manners, University of Bristol, UK
Boris Rybtchinski, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
Luis Sanchez, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Dwight Seferos, University of Toronto
Kazunori Sugiyasu, National Institute of Materials Science, Tsukuba, Japan
John D. Tovar, Johns Hopkins University, USA
Reji Varghese, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, India
Chien-Lung Wang, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
Shiki Yagai, Chiba University, Japan

Photoresponsive Polymers and Hybrid Materials

Organizer:
Yue Zhao (yue.zhao@ushebrooke.ca), Université de Sherbrooke

Invited Speakers:
Neil Branda,
Simon Fraser University
Jérôme Claverie, Université de Sherbrooke
Tigran Galstian, Université Laval
Tomiki Ikeda, Chuo University, Japan
Fiorenzo Vetrone, INRS
Si Wu, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Germany
Haifeng Yu, Peking University, China
Yanlei Yu, Fudan University, China

Polymers in Biomedical Applications

Organizers:
John Oh (john.oh@concordia.ca), Concordia University
Matthew Moffitt (mmoffitt@uvic.ca), University of Victoria

Polymers for Energy Applications

Organizer:
Hyun-Joong Chung (chung3@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta

Polymers from Renewable Resources

Organizer:
Phillip Choi (phillip.choi@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta

Invited Speakers:
Jonathan CurtisUniversity of Alberta
Theodorus G. M. van de Ven, McGill University

Polysaccharides: Characterization and Chemical Modification

Organizer:
Jean Duhamel (jduhamel@uwaterloo.ca), University of Waterloo

Invited Speakers:
John DutcherUniversity of Guelph
Mark MacLachlanUniversity of British Columbia
Michael Tam, University of Waterloo
Lee Wilson, University of Saskatchewan

Soft Materials, Including Biomaterials Engineering and Characterization

Organizer:
Hongbin Li (hongbin@chem.ubc.ca), University of British Columbia

Stimuli Responsive Polymers

Organizer:
Various Serpe Group members (serpe@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta

Invited Speakers:
Zifu Li, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
Guojun Liu, Queen's University
Wei Lu, Ningbo Institute of Material Technology and Engineering, China
Francoise Winnik, University of Montreal
Qiang Yan, Fudan University
Jiawei Zhang, Ningbo Institute of Material Technology and Engineering, China

Symposium in honour of Mitch Winnik

Organizer:
Guojun Liu (gliu@chem.queensu.ca), Queens University

Invited Speakers:
Alex Adronov, McMaster University
Timothy Lodge, University of Minnesota, USA
Ian Manners, Bristol University, UK
Darren Pochan, University of Delaware, USA
Holger Schalz, Universitat Bayreuth, Germany
Mitchell A Winnik, University of Toronto
Yue Zhao, Universite de Sherbrooke